Omega Morales And The Legend Of La Lechuza Book Tour

I’m thrilled to be taking part in the Omega Morales and the Legend of La Lechuza Book Tour, hosted by TBR And Beyond Tours. Check out my review below!

Omega Morales and the Legend of La Lechuza

By Laekan Zea Kemp

Children’s Fantasy

332 Pages

Ages 8-12

Little Brown Books for Young Readers

Fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon, Paola Santiago and the River of Tears, and Disney’s Encanto will be captivated by this fantastical novel about a girl who must learn to trust her ancestral powers when she comes face-to-face with the Mexican legend La Lechuza.

Omega Morales’s family has been practicing magic for centuries in Noche Buena. But over the years, the town’s reputation for the supernatural is no longer one the people carry with pride. So Omega’s family keeps to themselves, and in private, they’re Empaths—diviners who can read and manipulate the emotions of people and objects around them. But Omega’s powers don’t quite work, and it leaves her feeling like an outsider in her own family.

When a witch with the power to transform herself into an owl—known in Mexican folklore as La Lechuza—shows up unannounced, Omega, her best friend Clau (who happens to be a ghost), and her cousin Carlitos must conduct a séance under a full moon in order to unravel the mystery of the legend.

Suddenly Omega’s magic begins to change, and the key to understanding her powers is more complicated than she thought. Omega will have to decide what’s more important—trusting the instincts of others or learning to trust in herself.

My Review

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

So incredibly rich in latin culture. I found this to be a breath of fresh air, and absolutely riveting. I was hooked from the very first page. Omega is a phenomenal main character that I think so many will relate to. She’s struggling to be who she’s meant to be, and learning more each day. Watching Omega grow throughout the book was one of my favorite aspects. I love the paranormal and folklore woven in expertly. The story propels you forward and before you know if you’ve come to the end… Bittersweet. I’m hoping to see more of Omega in the future. Definitely one to read!

About The Author

Laekan Zea Kemp is a writer living in Austin, Texas. Her debut novel, Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet was a 2021 Pura Belpré Honor Recipient. In addition to writing she’s also the creator and host of the Author Pep Talks podcast, as well as a contributor to the Las Musas podcast. She has three objectives when it comes to storytelling: to make people laugh, cry, and crave Mexican food. Her work celebrates Chicane grit, resilience, creativity, and joy while exploring themes of identity and mental health.

Website ~ Twitter ~ Instagram ~ Goodreads

Huge thanks to TBR And Beyond, Little Brown and Laekan for my gifted copy. To learn more or grab one for yourself click one of the links below!

Goodreads ~ Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble ~ Book Depository ~ IndieBound ~ Indigo

Thank you so for coming by, have a wonderful day!

Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s