Blade Of Ash

Blade Of Ash Scepter and Crown Series

By C.F.E. Black

YA Fantasy

352 Pages

Independently Published

Hardcover ~ Kindle

The only way to beat death is to chase it.

Newly crowned, Red blames one person for his father’s murder: the secret sorceress sworn to protect the king.Alyana Barron, Royal Sorcerer to the throne of Tandera, fears her magic is weakening.A powerful enemy twisted by dark magic wants them both dead.

When Red is cursed, his life entwines with Aly’s in ways neither of them expected. Together, they chase after a cure that will heal the king and restore her magic, but the closer they get to a cure, the nearer they step toward death, for the path to the cure is as dangerous as the curse itself.

Packed full of royal intrigue, legends, and plenty of ballgowns, Blade of Ash is the first in a new, YA epic fantasy series perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard, Margaret Rogerson, and Sarah K. L. Wilson.

If you like clean enemies-to-lovers romance, female bodyguards, and forced proximity with life-and-death stakes, check out Blade of Ash.

My Review

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

I loved this story. After reading the shorter prequel I dove right in. Aly is such a force to be reckoned with. She has to stay hidden from everyone because her father has been hunting for her to kill her. He curses the King that Aly is bound to. Pledged to the crown she must bond with the next King – which happens to be Red. She’s always known that Red’s light was brighter than everyone else’s and was always curious about it. However, when the King dies, Red blames Aly – she was the Kings sorcerer and was supposed to protect him. Can they come together to fight the evil lurking around the corner?

I thought the magic system was refreshing and unique. The in world building was good. The character development was phenomenal, I loved these characters. Each had depth to them and uniquely so. The plot kept me guessing – I never knew who was truly on their side until the end of the book. The author did an amazing job at keeping you on your toes. The pacing was steady without any dry moments. The book itself is absolutely gorgeous with and without the dust jacket! Overall it was an amazing read and can’t wait until the next book in the series comes out.

About The Author

If you’re looking for for heart-stealing fantasy and fast-paced science fiction, stick around. ​

Seven days a week I seek to shine light into the lives of young people, whether it be in a high school Spanish class, a youth group Sunday school class, or a coffee shop with my computer writing my next book.​

I live in north Alabama with my son, one droopy hound dog, a cat named Sprinkles, and my superhero husband. No, really, he saved my life once. It’s a cool story. If you want to know more about me, my writing, or my escapades as a teacher, please visit my blog or connect on social. I love hearing from readers!

Website ~ Instagram ~ Twitter ~ Facebook ~ Pinterest

Huge thanks to Prism Book Tours and C.F.E. Black for my gifted copy.

Get The Book

Thank you so much for stopping by, have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s