The Haidren Legacy: The House Of Bastiion

House Of Bastiion

The Haidren Legacy

By K.L. Koralich

YA Fantasy

486 Pages ‎

Rogue Kite Publishing

January 19, 2021

Hardcover ~ Paperback ~ Kindle

House of Bastiion is the first installment in the epic fantasy series, The Haidren Legacy. An immersive adventure armed with dark politics, sharp objects, and bickering characters, this treacherous saga packs a legendary punch for adult and NA readers alike. Fans of Brandon Sanderson, George R.R. Martin, and Robin Hobb won’t be able to resist!

BEHIND THE MASK OF DUTY AND POWER, NO ONE IS WHO THEY SEEM…

Centuries after the Forgotten Wars ravaged the world and turned it to ash, the Houses of Pilar, Darakai, Boreal, and Bastiion forged an accord with the royal line of Thoarne, founding a Quadren of advisory to the throne of Orynthia.

Every generation, a single haidren from each of the four Houses is appointed to this coveted chair.

Upon her Ascension to adulthood, Luscia Tiergan takes her seat at court as al’haidren to the House of Boreal and is quickly drawn into a maze of political traps and dark secrets. As she adjusts to her new life, Luscia uncovers a pattern of forgotten children, slain in the streets of Bastiion.

Raised on superstitious rumors about Boreal’s penchant for sorcery, Zaethan Kasim, al’haidren to the House of Darakai, inevitably clashes with Luscia when she arrives in Bastiion. But when his position is threatened by an old rival, Zaethan is forced to set aside his hatred and form an uneasy alliance with the Boreali al’haidren to secure his claim.

Following a disturbing stream of innocent bloodshed across Orynthia, Luscia and Zaethan discover their ideals are far more aligned than they might have imagined. But in a land of war and deceit, the path to peace should never be trusted.

My Review

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

House Of Bastiion is a wild and truly remarkable story that will stick with you. Luscia and Kasim are both characters you will find yourself cheering on, even though they seem to be on different sides. You will wish their prejudices towards each other didn’t run so deep so that they could either work with each other or go for that forbidden romance. Well I was hoping they would get together anyways 🥰. There are layers upon layers of intrigue, betrayals, suspicions, prejudices, politics, hierarchies and intricate friendships. The side characters were just as amazing. So many different key players and I personally can’t wait to see how it all comes together in the end. There’s so much going on that is still unresolved at the end – will be picking up House of Darakia as soon as possible.

The beginning of the book is hard to follow unless you either read the glossary of terms first or have an imagination to figure out the puzzle that Kolarich expertly lays down in New languages. I went for the latter and son enough was pulled into the story and not let go. The pacing was steady, never a dull moment. The world building and overall character development in itself made me a fan. The complexity of different plot twists was done masterfully. Kolarich’s writing is thoroughly enjoyable and I cannot believe this is a debut!

About The Author

Throughout her life, K.L. Kolarich never expected to become a New-Adult epic fantasy author, nor one based out of Nashville, TN. But growing up in Metro Detroit, Kolarich developed a deep love for eclectic variety as well as the underappreciated. Both themes readily present throughout her series, The Haidren Legacy. An individual plagued by sarcasm, conviction, and an ever-present distraction of fable and lore, K.L. Kolarich dreams in the day and writes through the night. Often hearing her characters argue in the background, Kolarich stifles the daily temptation to abandon reality and lose herself in the realm of Orynthia. When fully present in the real world rather than another, Kolarich explores local waterfalls, habitually frequents the same Thai restaurant, adds to her ever-growing spice collection, and maintains a thoroughly messy kitchen for the sake of colorful vegan feasts. With too many cats and not nearly enough wine, Kolarich resides in the woods away from the noise, happily married.

The Haidren Legacy

Website ~ Goodreads ~ Instagram ~ Facebook ~ Twitter

Huge thanks to Kolarich and The Haidren Legacy team for my gifted copy. All opinions are 💯 my own! To grab a copy for yourself click the link below!

Buy The Book

Thank you all for coming by and your continued support! Have a wonderful weekend!

Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s