Mirror Girls Book Tour & Giveaway

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the MIRROR GIRLS by Kelly McWilliams Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!

 

About The Book:

Title: MIRROR GIRLS

Author: Kelly McWilliams

Pub. Date: February 8, 2022

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Formats: Hardcover, eBook, Audiobook

Pages: 320

Find it: GoodreadsAmazon, Kindle, Audible, B&NiBooks, KoboTBD, Bookshop.org

A thrilling gothic horror novel about biracial twin sisters separated at birth, perfect for fans of Lovecraft Country and The Vanishing Half

 As infants, twin sisters Charlie Yates and Magnolia Heathwood were secretly separated after the brutal lynching of their parents, who died for loving across the color line. Now, at the dawn of the Civil Rights Movement, Charlie is a young Black organizer in Harlem, while white-passing Magnolia is the heiress to a cotton plantation in rural Georgia. 

Magnolia knows nothing of her racial heritage, but secrets are hard to keep in a town haunted by the ghosts of its slave-holding past. When Magnolia finally learns the truth, her reflection mysteriously disappears from mirrors—the sign of a terrible curse. Meanwhile, in Harlem, Charlie’s beloved grandmother falls ill. Her final wish is to be buried back home in Georgia—and, unbeknownst to Charlie, to see her long-lost granddaughter, Magnolia Heathwood, one last time. So Charlie travels into the Deep South, confronting the land of her worst nightmares—and Jim Crow segregation.

The sisters reunite as teenagers in the deeply haunted town of Eureka, Georgia, where ghosts linger centuries after their time and dangers lurk behind every mirror. They couldn’t be more different, but they will need each other to put the hauntings of the past to rest, to break the mirrors’ deadly curse—and to discover the meaning of sisterhood in a racially divided land.

Reviews:

“Steeped in atmosphere, equal parts ghost and sororal love story, McWilliams has written a pitch-perfect southern gothic thriller about race, family, and what it means to call a place home.”―Christina Hammonds Reed, award-winning author of The Black Kids

“A moving story about sisterhood and perseverance in the face of a society that tells Black girls they are worthless.”―Booklist

“MIRROR GIRLS is a spine-tingling, empowering look at justice and civil action that urges readers to be aware, to be true to themselves and to take action. As Magnolia observes, ‘As twin sisters, white and Black, we are a symbol of coming victory. A promise of change.’”―BookPage, starred review

“A spooky Southern gothic ghost story. “―BCCB

 

My Review

🌕🌕🌕🌕🌑

I absolutely loved this book and devoured it in just two days. Magnolia & Charlie are twins who were separated at birth. They were bi-racial babies born in the South during some of the worst segregation our country has ever seen. One baby born white and one born brown. Growing up never knowing about each other, will they overcome their differences? Can they stop the curse that was placed upon them when they were separated? A fast paced story filled with secrets, ghosts, curses and racism. The characters are extremely relatable and well drawn out. The plot was unique and full of surprises. Overall I thought it was an amazing read!

Huge thanks to Rock Star Book Tours, Kelly McWilliams & ‎Little Brown Books for Young Readers for my gifted copy.

 

About Kelly McWilliams:


Kelly McWilliams is a mixed-race writer. She is the author of Doormat and Agnes at the End of the World. She lives in Seattle with her family.

 

Website |  Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads | Amazon | BookBub

 




Giveaway Details:

3 winners will receive a finished copy of MIRROR GIRLS, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

2/7/2022

The Reading Devil

Excerpt

2/7/2022

BookHounds YA

Excerpt

2/8/2022

For the Love of KidLit

Excerpt

2/8/2022

Rajiv’s Reviews

Review

2/9/2022

More Books Please blog

Review

2/9/2022

OneMoreExclamation

Review

2/10/2022

Wishful Endings

Review

2/10/2022

Kait Plus Books

Review

2/11/2022

@simplybeccamee

Review

2/11/2022

The Book Nut

Review

Week Two:

2/14/2022

A Court of Coffee and Books

Review

2/14/2022

Stuck in the Stacks

Review

2/15/2022

Do You Dog-ear?

Review

2/15/2022

onemused

Review

2/16/2022

The Momma Spot

Review

2/16/2022

celiamcmahonreads

Review

2/17/2022

History from a Woman’s Perspective

Review

2/17/2022

@drewsim12

Review

2/18/2022

@lexijava

Review

2/18/2022

@momfluenster

Review


Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s