Hair Twins

Hair Twins

By Raakhee Mirchandani

Illustrated by Holly Hatam

Picture Book

40 Pages

Ages 4-8

Little Brown Books for Young Readers

Hardcover

A Sikh father and daughter with a special hair bond proudly celebrate and share a family tradition in this charming story perfect for fans of Hair Love and I Love My Hair!

Every morning Papa combs through his daughter’s waves like he does his own—parting it down the middle, using coconut oil to get all the tangles out.

Some days he braids her hair in two twists down the side of her face. Other days he weaves it into one long braid hanging down her back, just like a unicorn tail. But her favorite style is when he combs her hair in a tight bun on the top of her head, just like the joora he wears every day under his turban. They call this their hair twin look!

My Review

Rating: 5 out of 5.

I absolutely loved this book! First of all it taught me something I didn’t know. I had no idea that the Sikh didn’t ever cut their hair! I think that is pretty awesome. I also didn’t know that all that hair was stored under their turbans!! I think it’s absolutely amazing to learn cool things from kids books! The story is a wonderful tale of a father and his daughter. The father helps his daughter do get hair each and every day. And some days they are even wearing the same Do!! The illustrations are phenomenal!

About The Author

Raakhee Mirchandani is an award-winning writer and editor and the author of Super Satya Saves the Day. When she isn’t writing, Raakhee is either organizing her book shelves, running races to raise money for kids with cancer, or styling her very curly hair with new oils and potions. She lives in Hoboken, New Jersey, with her husband and daughter, the inspiration for Hair Twins.

Connect With Raakhee

WebsiteInstagramTwitterFacebook

Huge thanks to Raakhee for gifting my family this book in exchange for our honest review. To get yourself a copy just click on the link below!

Buy The Book

Thanks for dropping in, I hope you all have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s